Best Paper Prize

Best Paper Prize Finalists and Presentation

The selection committee invited the following contestants to present their work in a dedicated session, which takes place at Soukairou Hall, GRIPS, on Mon (Aug 8) 16:15-17:30.

  • Peyman Mohajerin Esfahani (EPFL & ETH Zurich)
    1. Data-driven Distributionally Robust Optimization Using the Wasserstein Metric: Performance Guarantees and Tractable Reformulations
  • Mingyi Hong (Iowa State University)
    1. Convergence Analysis of Alternating Direction Method of Multipliers for a Family of Nonconvex Problems
  • Mengdi Wang (Princeton University)
    1. Stochastic Composition Optimization: Algorithms and Sample Complexities

The winner will be announced before the plenary talk in the Tuesday (Aug 9) morning.

ICCOPT 2016 Best Paper Prize Committee:

  • Andrzej Ruszczyński (Chairman) (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Amir Beck (Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)
  • Nick Gould ( STFC, England)
  • Kim-Chuan Toh (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Akiko Yoshise (University of Tsukuba, Japan)

Call for Nomination/Submission:

Best Paper Prize for Young Researchers in Continuous Optimization

Nominations/Submissions are invited for the Best Paper Prize by a Young Researcher in Continuous Optimization. The submitted papers should be in the area of continuous optimization and satisfy one of the following three criteria:

  • 1. Passed the first round of a normal refereeing process in a journal;
  • 2. Published during the year of 2013 or after (including forthcoming);
  • 3. Certified by a thesis adviser or postdoctoral mentor as a well-polished paper that is ready for submission to a journal.

Papers can be single-authored or multi-authored, subject to the following criterion:

  • 4. Each paper must have at least one qualifying author who was under age 30 on January 1, 2011 and has not earned a PhD before that date. In case of joint authorship involving senior researchers (i.e., those who fail both the age test and the Ph.D. test), one senior author must certify the pivotal role and the relevance of the contribution of the qualifying author in the work.

The Selection Committee will decide on questions on eligibility in exceptional cases. The selection criteria will be based solely on the quality of the paper, including originality of results and potential impact. The following items are required for submission:

  1. A. The paper for consideration;
  2. B. A brief description of the contribution (limited to 2 pages);
  3. C. A statement about the status of the paper: not submitted, under review, accepted, or published (when) in a journal;
  4. D. A certification of the qualifying author’s eligibility in terms of age and Ph.D. (by the qualifying author’s adviser or department chair);
  5. E. In case of joint authorship involving a senior researcher, a certification by the latter individual about the qualifying author’s pivotal role and relevance of the contribution.

The deadline for submission is March 15, 2016. Submission should be sent electronically in Adobe Acrobat pdf format, to the Chair of the Selection Committee, Professor Andrzej Ruszczynski,email address: mail_address

Up to three papers will be selected as finalists of the competition.The finalists will be featured in a dedicated session at ICCOPT 2016, and the Prize Winner will be determined after the finalist session.

The Young Researcher Prize in Continuous Optimization will be presented at the conference banquet.

The finalists will receive free registration to ICCOPT 2016 and to the conference banquet. Their university or department should cover the travel costs. All the three finalists will receive a diploma, and the winner will be presented a 1000 USD award.

Submission to the BPP is no longer accepted